Toledo Talk

Review: Mi Hacienda

Ok, I never considered "Mihas" to have really good food. But it was hot, and quick, and big enough place to always get a table or a booth. They used to be pretty crowded all the time. Tonight I didn't feel like cooking so myself and a dining companion heading up there.

I was shocked that nobody was there.

At first.

I ordered a pint of draft Pacifico and got a bottle instead. Ok. No harm no foul. Beer nonetheless. No problem.
I noticed that the salsa with the chips was a runny substance with the bright taste of canned tomato sauce. Uh... ok. That's a new recipe. A bad one. Yuck.

When the food came, finally... it was cold. I mean cold. Someone else ran the food out, as the waiter (the one with the glasses who is the comedian, if you are a regular, you know who I mean) never came back. He was busy sitting in a booth on the other side of the restaurant with a waitress.

I sat there with cold food and no beer, as I had emptied the Pacifico waiting for dinner. (In an empty dining room)
My dining companion ordered mixed chicken/steak fajitas, which came with very little meat at all, and no tortillas. Yes. Cold vegetarian fajitas with no tortillas.
When Mr. Comedy finally came to check on us, I let him know what had happened, and he graciously charged me only $2.00 for the wrong beer instead of $3.50. When I was in the restaurant business, I would have gone to great lengths to make it right. I mean, really? You can't even connect tortillas with fajitas? And what ever happened to checking back just after the food hits the table?

Terrible service, terrible food, new higher prices. A winning combination.
And now I know why nobody was there.
Zero stars. Off the list.

I predict a closing sometime soon. Not based on traffic at midnight in a level 3 snowstorm, but based on a solid, well-rounded suckiness.

But gosh, is that waiter funny.

created by justread on May 14, 2014 at 07:10:22 pm     Food     Comments: 43

source      versions


Comments ... #

ugh, thanks for the share
are you using http://yelp.com at all?
you should consider it... helps the restaurant owners know whats up

http://www.yelp.com/biz/mi-hacienda-toledo

posted by upso on May 14, 2014 at 07:23:18 pm     #  

Interestingly, many of those Yelp comments were very positive about the place. Maybe under new management?

posted by McCaskey on May 14, 2014 at 07:34:17 pm     #  

I don't usually review restaurants. Having been in the business years ago, my tolerance for good and bad is pretty wide. I understand the little things that happen that can make or break a visit. I am usually fine if the food is anywhere near what was ordered and the server checks back once to catch anything missing or wrong.

This was so remarkably bad, and such a change from the past in terms of traffic, food, service and prices, it seemed like time for a post.

posted by justread on May 14, 2014 at 07:36:39 pm     #  

McCaskey posted at 08:34:17 PM on May 14, 2014:

Interestingly, many of those Yelp comments were very positive about the place. Maybe under new management?

I've been there a fair amount over the years, and many of the yelp comments ring true for past experiences. Maybe they just jumped the shark.

posted by justread on May 14, 2014 at 07:39:01 pm     #  

I have occasion to be down that way every couple weeks and wondered about the place. Now I know.

justread, you should do more reviews. You have the knack.

posted by McCaskey on May 14, 2014 at 08:17:39 pm     #  

The Knack.
Dam. Now I have "My Sharona" in my head. :D

posted by justread on May 14, 2014 at 08:33:57 pm     #  

Didn't they have a horrendous health inspection not too long ago?

I usually don't pay a ton of attention to the tv restaurant reports, but it seems like I remember seeing them mentioned on an episode.

posted by mom2 on May 14, 2014 at 09:15:06 pm     #  

This is so disappointing to hear. Mi Hacienda's has long been one of my reliable go-to places for a quick, hot, tasty meal without hassle or complaint, though I admit I haven't visited in a while. (We have a toddler; we don't get out much anymore!)

posted by jmleong on May 15, 2014 at 12:08:15 am     #  

This is a true story.

Years back, a coworker and I were going to hit Mi Hacienda's for lunch, but we couldn't remember the name of the place. I asked another coworker, who lives near the restaurant, the name.

She told me, but said, "You don't want to go there! I don't know what they do to the meat, but it has the consistency of dog food!"

Whatever. We went there anyway, and they seated us at a booth by a window on the side of the restaurant, away from the street.

Just after we ordered, a semi truck pulled into the driveway and around the back of the building. The sign on the side of the truck advertised dog food.

Since then, my coworkers and I have always called Mi Hacienda "The Dog Food Cafe."

posted by Anniecski on May 15, 2014 at 08:18:37 am     #   2 people liked this

Anniecski---

Wow. I mean Wow. It's been a while since I read a comment that was hilarious and yet scary at the same time.

Yikes.

posted by foodie88 on May 16, 2014 at 02:25:13 pm     #  

Do they serve hot dogs there?

posted by Mike21 on May 16, 2014 at 02:27:07 pm     #  

I stopped in at Mi Hacienda yesterday afternoon for a quick bite. I'll preface my statements with the fact that I've been there about a dozen times in the past two years.

Our waiter was a little slow to get to the table, but we were the only people sitting in the patio area, so we begrudgingly expected that. Margs were strong and pretty tasty. Table salsa and chips were fine. We split a dish that we've had there a few times. It came to the table hot and met out expectations. They even remembered to bring extra tortillas. Overall, I was satisfied with our visit. Towards the end of our visit the funny waiter stopped by to see if everything was OK.

I don't doubt that you had a bad experience that day, justread. I was concerned based on your review that drastic changes had occurred. I am guessing it was just a bad day for them for some reason. If I were you I wouldn't write them off so quick.

We've had a visit where things were disappointing (40+ minutes for food, empty drinks, etc.). We asked to talk to the manager and he apologized for what happened and made it right for us. Management's ability to acknowledge and rectify the situation was the only reason we returned after that, and I'm glad they did so. It's nice to have a place like that very close to home.

posted by brainswell on May 19, 2014 at 12:17:40 pm     #  

"I've been there about a dozen times in the past two years"

Me too. Maybe 15-18. And a dozen each year prior to that since around 2006.
Glad you had a nice time. Seriously.

Being that they knew they dropped the ball really bad for me and did nothing at all to rectify it, I think I will try one of the other 50 Mexican restaurants in town when I feel like some Mexican food next time.

I wouldn't drink the house margaritas there. I strongly suspect dubious liquor based on taste, experience and side-effects.

I don't think that they serve dog food though.

posted by justread on May 19, 2014 at 12:58:09 pm     #  

/m/

posted by Molsonator on May 19, 2014 at 01:06:11 pm     #  

Sounds like either a long time manager left or (if a family business) the family member who was the driving force is no longer able to come in and maintain standards on an every day basis.

I only worked for Arbys as my "restaurant experience" but if I had been "sitting in a booth on the other side of the restaurant with a waitress" or whomever, I would have been fired on the spot. There was no sitting unless you were on break.

I'm really starting to sound like Dana Carvey's Grumpy Old Man.

posted by oldhometown on May 19, 2014 at 03:01:11 pm     #  

We have tried the place on Glanzman twice and did not like the food or the service either time.

posted by buckeye278 on Jun 10, 2014 at 11:23:15 am     #  

I have driven by Mi Hacienda a few times and there is always water being pumped out the back door and into the storm sewer. For weeks, if not months. Underground spring? Any idea? It's like they have been draining their indoor pool since March.

posted by justread on May 04, 2015 at 04:10:29 pm     #   1 person liked this

I live in the neighborhood and have noticed that too. No idea what they're draining water from

posted by steve155 on May 05, 2015 at 08:14:21 am     #  

We went there one of the nights when I was in town a couple weeks ago for the marathon. It's in the neighborhood and I had never been there before. The food was not cold, but it was pretty bland and nondescript. Not the worst, but not the best. We parked in a space off Glanzman, so I can't comment on water being pumped out the back.

posted by clt212 on May 05, 2015 at 12:42:49 pm     #  

Going there, though, made me remember just how much I miss The Surf. I know it's been gone for a while, but that place was great. It was a staple for my family growing up.

posted by clt212 on May 05, 2015 at 12:49:35 pm     #  

The Surf was the best! I would always order take out for the family then race like hell to get over there and have a couple of drinks with the locals.

posted by Molsonator on May 05, 2015 at 01:23:32 pm     #  

If we are going to miss the Surf, we should also miss Harvey's.

posted by justread on May 05, 2015 at 07:44:00 pm     #   3 people liked this

Any more recent stop-ins to report? Thinking of meeting some people at Mi Ha's for convenience -- out-of-towners know where it is -- but I'm wondering if there is still water pumping out the back?

posted by jmleong on Jun 11, 2015 at 04:06:19 pm     #  

Went by last week and still pumping. Now it's driving me crazy not knowing what it is.

posted by slowsol on Jun 12, 2015 at 07:16:27 am     #   1 person liked this

Still coming out of there. I think they should make a waterfall feature like Pepes and put it to good use rather than just pumping it into the Toledo storm sewer.

posted by justread on Jun 12, 2015 at 08:48:39 am     #   1 person liked this

Ugh.

posted by jmleong on Jun 12, 2015 at 02:38:46 pm     #  

Somebody call and ask what the water is. :)

posted by justread on Jun 12, 2015 at 02:45:23 pm     #   2 people liked this

I don't know where this place is, ( I'm not too familiar with the South end) but now I'm curious, too.

I just called , and tried to be casual and asked the guy who answered the phone what time they close tonight ,and he seemed to hear me just fine and he answered my question, then I asked him about the water and he said he couldn't hear me, I asked a couple more times and he just couldn't hear me all of a sudden.

True story.

posted by foodie88 on Jun 12, 2015 at 03:39:14 pm     #  

foodie88 posted at 04:39:14 PM on Jun 12, 2015:

I don't know where this place is, ( I'm not too familiar with the South end) but now I'm curious, too.

I just called , and tried to be casual and asked the guy who answered the phone what time they close tonight ,and he seemed to hear me just fine and he answered my question, then I asked him about the water and he said he couldn't hear me, I asked a couple more times and he just couldn't hear me all of a sudden.

True story.

I love this! Lol

posted by dell_diva on Jun 12, 2015 at 04:48:01 pm     #  

I know ,right? that's not even the ridiculous part, the ridiculous part is that after I asked 3 times about the water, I gave up and I just said okay thanks anyways. And without missing a beat he said you're welcome.

posted by foodie88 on Jun 12, 2015 at 07:08:57 pm     #   2 people liked this

This place is literally right down the street and I haven't ever been there. Still freaked out by the liquid being pumped out of there earlier this year.

posted by Ace_Face on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:12:22 pm     #  

It's still pumping. With a small sand beach along the curb, too.

posted by justread on Sep 17, 2015 at 05:51:22 am     #  

Hey, so, remember when I inquired about the water in June? Well, we went there to eat anyway, because out-of-towners knew where it was.

My brother's entre came with a piece of glass in it.

The waiter gave half of my party lunch menues and half of my party dinner menues. It was like 1:30, so OK, but when the waiter came to take our order, immediately someone tried to order a lunch entree and the waiter told us, "no lunch," so a few people were scrambling at the last minute with the dinner menu, trying to figure out what to order.

We had seven adults and one 3-year-old in our party. Guess who was served last, several minutes after everyone else got their food? Dude, you DO NOT serve the little kid last! When his meal came, it was garnished with a single tomato slice that was half brown. I immediately picked it up and put it into the waiter's bare hand. "We won't be needing this. It's disgusting."

And the food did not taste all that great. C+ at best.

posted by jmleong on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:30:26 pm     #  

Sister of a friend is a server there. I asked about the water being pumped out. She says it from a busted pipe and there is a dispute over who is responsible for it, the landlord or the city.

posted by TrilbyGuy on Sep 19, 2015 at 10:00:53 am     #  

Will be interesting when it freezes. A whole new layer of liability.

posted by justread on Sep 19, 2015 at 11:23:58 am     #  

The landlord is Mi Hacienda Real Estate.

posted by justread on Sep 19, 2015 at 11:39:22 am     #  

Just time-travel back to The Surf and all will be fine.

posted by McCaskey on Sep 21, 2015 at 03:09:52 pm     #  

justread posted at 12:39:22 PM on Sep 19, 2015:

The landlord is Mi Hacienda Real Estate.

Ironically, as justread probably just pointed out, Mi Hacienda is Spanish for "my property".

posted by ahmahler on Sep 21, 2015 at 04:04:43 pm     #  

Nope. Just the name of the owner on Areis.

Here is some Spanish:
no pagamos impuestos a la propiedad

posted by justread on Sep 21, 2015 at 04:08:31 pm     #   1 person liked this

I hate it when you make us look shit up to see what it means :)

posted by foodie88 on Sep 21, 2015 at 05:47:11 pm     #  

The Surf is Chinese for Martini.

posted by Molsonator on Sep 21, 2015 at 08:27:07 pm     #  

I've been disappointed the last two times I have gone there. It used to be one of my favorite Mexican restaurants.

I'd rather just go to San Marco's now that they have a full bar and you can dine in. Food is a lot better

posted by classylady on Sep 21, 2015 at 10:36:40 pm     #  

Molsonator posted at 09:27:07 PM on Sep 21, 2015:

The Surf is Chinese for Martini.

I had a dream that somebody bought it at the sheriffs sale and turned it back into the Surf. There were three huge dumpsters, mostly filled with tile. And the entire concrete deck they poured over the sidewalk on Wilshire. The sidewalk was back, and the water was no longer issuing forth as if Moses had struck the patio with his staff.

The investors made their money back selling brightly colored chairs.

posted by justread on Sep 22, 2015 at 04:38:38 am     #