Toledo Talk

Review: Mi Hacienda

Ok, I never considered "Mihas" to have really good food. But it was hot, and quick, and big enough place to always get a table or a booth. They used to be pretty crowded all the time. Tonight I didn't feel like cooking so myself and a dining companion heading up there.

I was shocked that nobody was there.

At first.

I ordered a pint of draft Pacifico and got a bottle instead. Ok. No harm no foul. Beer nonetheless. No problem.
I noticed that the salsa with the chips was a runny substance with the bright taste of canned tomato sauce. Uh... ok. That's a new recipe. A bad one. Yuck.

When the food came, finally... it was cold. I mean cold. Someone else ran the food out, as the waiter (the one with the glasses who is the comedian, if you are a regular, you know who I mean) never came back. He was busy sitting in a booth on the other side of the restaurant with a waitress.

I sat there with cold food and no beer, as I had emptied the Pacifico waiting for dinner. (In an empty dining room)
My dining companion ordered mixed chicken/steak fajitas, which came with very little meat at all, and no tortillas. Yes. Cold vegetarian fajitas with no tortillas.
When Mr. Comedy finally came to check on us, I let him know what had happened, and he graciously charged me only $2.00 for the wrong beer instead of $3.50. When I was in the restaurant business, I would have gone to great lengths to make it right. I mean, really? You can't even connect tortillas with fajitas? And what ever happened to checking back just after the food hits the table?

Terrible service, terrible food, new higher prices. A winning combination.
And now I know why nobody was there.
Zero stars. Off the list.

I predict a closing sometime soon. Not based on traffic at midnight in a level 3 snowstorm, but based on a solid, well-rounded suckiness.

But gosh, is that waiter funny.

created by justread on May 14, 2014 at 08:10:22 pm     Food     Comments: 16

source      versions


Comments ... #

ugh, thanks for the share
are you using http://yelp.com at all?
you should consider it... helps the restaurant owners know whats up

http://www.yelp.com/biz/mi-hacienda-toledo

posted by upso on May 14, 2014 at 08:23:18 pm     #  

Interestingly, many of those Yelp comments were very positive about the place. Maybe under new management?

posted by McCaskey on May 14, 2014 at 08:34:17 pm     #  

I don't usually review restaurants. Having been in the business years ago, my tolerance for good and bad is pretty wide. I understand the little things that happen that can make or break a visit. I am usually fine if the food is anywhere near what was ordered and the server checks back once to catch anything missing or wrong.

This was so remarkably bad, and such a change from the past in terms of traffic, food, service and prices, it seemed like time for a post.

posted by justread on May 14, 2014 at 08:36:39 pm     #  

McCaskey posted at 08:34:17 PM on May 14, 2014:

Interestingly, many of those Yelp comments were very positive about the place. Maybe under new management?

I've been there a fair amount over the years, and many of the yelp comments ring true for past experiences. Maybe they just jumped the shark.

posted by justread on May 14, 2014 at 08:39:01 pm     #  

I have occasion to be down that way every couple weeks and wondered about the place. Now I know.

justread, you should do more reviews. You have the knack.

posted by McCaskey on May 14, 2014 at 09:17:39 pm     #  

The Knack.
Dam. Now I have "My Sharona" in my head. :D

posted by justread on May 14, 2014 at 09:33:57 pm     #  

Didn't they have a horrendous health inspection not too long ago?

I usually don't pay a ton of attention to the tv restaurant reports, but it seems like I remember seeing them mentioned on an episode.

posted by mom2 on May 14, 2014 at 10:15:06 pm     #  

This is so disappointing to hear. Mi Hacienda's has long been one of my reliable go-to places for a quick, hot, tasty meal without hassle or complaint, though I admit I haven't visited in a while. (We have a toddler; we don't get out much anymore!)

posted by jmleong on May 15, 2014 at 01:08:15 am     #  

This is a true story.

Years back, a coworker and I were going to hit Mi Hacienda's for lunch, but we couldn't remember the name of the place. I asked another coworker, who lives near the restaurant, the name.

She told me, but said, "You don't want to go there! I don't know what they do to the meat, but it has the consistency of dog food!"

Whatever. We went there anyway, and they seated us at a booth by a window on the side of the restaurant, away from the street.

Just after we ordered, a semi truck pulled into the driveway and around the back of the building. The sign on the side of the truck advertised dog food.

Since then, my coworkers and I have always called Mi Hacienda "The Dog Food Cafe."

posted by Anniecski on May 15, 2014 at 09:18:37 am     #   2 people liked this

Anniecski---

Wow. I mean Wow. It's been a while since I read a comment that was hilarious and yet scary at the same time.

Yikes.

posted by foodie88 on May 16, 2014 at 03:25:13 pm     #  

Do they serve hot dogs there?

posted by Mike21 on May 16, 2014 at 03:27:07 pm     #  

I stopped in at Mi Hacienda yesterday afternoon for a quick bite. I'll preface my statements with the fact that I've been there about a dozen times in the past two years.

Our waiter was a little slow to get to the table, but we were the only people sitting in the patio area, so we begrudgingly expected that. Margs were strong and pretty tasty. Table salsa and chips were fine. We split a dish that we've had there a few times. It came to the table hot and met out expectations. They even remembered to bring extra tortillas. Overall, I was satisfied with our visit. Towards the end of our visit the funny waiter stopped by to see if everything was OK.

I don't doubt that you had a bad experience that day, justread. I was concerned based on your review that drastic changes had occurred. I am guessing it was just a bad day for them for some reason. If I were you I wouldn't write them off so quick.

We've had a visit where things were disappointing (40+ minutes for food, empty drinks, etc.). We asked to talk to the manager and he apologized for what happened and made it right for us. Management's ability to acknowledge and rectify the situation was the only reason we returned after that, and I'm glad they did so. It's nice to have a place like that very close to home.

posted by brainswell on May 19, 2014 at 01:17:40 pm     #  

"I've been there about a dozen times in the past two years"

Me too. Maybe 15-18. And a dozen each year prior to that since around 2006.
Glad you had a nice time. Seriously.

Being that they knew they dropped the ball really bad for me and did nothing at all to rectify it, I think I will try one of the other 50 Mexican restaurants in town when I feel like some Mexican food next time.

I wouldn't drink the house margaritas there. I strongly suspect dubious liquor based on taste, experience and side-effects.

I don't think that they serve dog food though.

posted by justread on May 19, 2014 at 01:58:09 pm     #  

/m/

posted by Molsonator on May 19, 2014 at 02:06:11 pm     #  

Sounds like either a long time manager left or (if a family business) the family member who was the driving force is no longer able to come in and maintain standards on an every day basis.

I only worked for Arbys as my "restaurant experience" but if I had been "sitting in a booth on the other side of the restaurant with a waitress" or whomever, I would have been fired on the spot. There was no sitting unless you were on break.

I'm really starting to sound like Dana Carvey's Grumpy Old Man.

posted by oldhometown on May 19, 2014 at 04:01:11 pm     #  

We have tried the place on Glanzman twice and did not like the food or the service either time.

posted by buckeye278 on Jun 10, 2014 at 12:23:15 pm     #