Toledo Talk

Restaurant Reviews Website

I know there are a lot of real people on here who enjoy food and dining out. My wife and I occasionally travel and often are at the computer before trips searching for restaurants that look interesting to us.

I'm just curious what [real people] are using that they are finding is pretty genuine. As a test I often see what a particular website will say about Toledo. When it tells me the best pizza by me is some fast food national chain I know it's not very accurate. Or when I go to a site and most of the contributors talking about Toledo restaurants are from Poughkeepsie, New York City, LA and other cities but not local people that seems to be another warning sign.

Once we get to a town we tend to ask a few locals but to get a little knowledge beforehand is nice too.

Any suggestions?

created by Danneskjold on Jun 07, 2016 at 09:34:19 pm     Comments: 7

source      versions


Comments ... #

This is a great question. I tend to check Yelp but I am highly skeptical of some of the opinions.

posted by viola on Jun 07, 2016 at 11:12:51 pm     #  

viola posted at 12:12:51 AM on Jun 08, 2016:

This is a great question. I tend to check Yelp but I am highly skeptical of some of the opinions.

Especially upso's. :D

posted by justread on Jun 08, 2016 at 07:09:40 am     #  

I use the Urban Spoon app when I travel to find local favorites.

posted by SensorG on Jun 08, 2016 at 07:15:42 am     #  

justread posted at 08:09:40 AM on Jun 08, 2016:
viola posted at 12:12:51 AM on Jun 08, 2016:

This is a great question. I tend to check Yelp but I am highly skeptical of some of the opinions.

Especially upso's. :D

🙃

posted by upso on Jun 08, 2016 at 07:19:31 am     #  

I look at yelp to see what's around, but I'll often then ask around, look at menus, and then pick whatever sounds good. Yelp's gotten... noisy.

posted by endcycle on Jun 08, 2016 at 07:55:41 am     #  

I use Mad Jack's Shack. The author is a true gourmand, and publishes thoughtfully written, unbiased reviews of select restaurants in the Toledo metropolitan area as well as certain select other areas across the country.

I also look at the Toledo Blade restaurant reviews, but given that the food critic's ideas about ambience, service, and taste are based on a circa 1950s bowling alley, I tend to discount most of his reviews.

posted by madjack on Jun 08, 2016 at 08:46:52 am     #   2 people liked this

I swear by Trip Advisor. I have written quite a few reviews there as well. It's easy to navigate and covers worldwide locations.

Also used it for B & B and restaurant recommendations when I went to Ireland and it was spot on!

posted by shamrock44 on Jun 08, 2016 at 09:01:52 am     #