/p/
Toledo Talk forums search sign-up login

Is this a scam to steal personal info ? (ie..SSI #...etc)

What do you think about this scenario ?

Two days ago, I replied to an ad on CraigsList, for a driving-related job. I wrote a couple senteces and provided my name, phone number and e-mail address.

Three weeks ago, I got laid off from my primary job, but I'm still working a 2nd job. I'm not desperate for a job, but was semi-curious about this job posted on CraigsList.

Yesterday, I get an e-mail from someone with a Yahoo e-mail address. It includes a couple attachments, in Microsfot Word and Wordpad format. It looks like a job application.

But a couple things seem odd :

1. The name on the e-mail itself, says Stacy Kline. But at the end of the typed message to me, it says Stacy Brooks.

2. The application asks for my drivers license number and Social Security number.

3. The application asks for my previous addresses for the past 3 years (this part seems very odd). Almost like information typically asked for on credit card applications or other credit / loan applications.

Right away, it seems rather suspicious.

They have not provided any real info about themselves....ie Company website, address & phone number. It would seem logical, that a "real job application" should include some of this information, along the top of the application.

Plus, anybody can create a Yahoo e-mail address.

It just seems like an ideal way for someone to "steal" someone's personal information and identity.

Given the economic climate, it seems like "some people" who REALLY need a job, could be setting themselves up for serious problems, responding to this type of request for personal information. - That's the sad part.

created by WalterAnthony on Feb 05, 2009 at 10:26:03 am     Comments: 13

source      versions

Comments ... #

It does sound like a scam to me. Frankly, I would report it to the authorities to investigate if I were you. Could save someone from falling victim to it.

A legitimate company would provide you with the company name, address, and phone number. They would also (most likely) have a "real" e-mail address, not a Yahoo one. Also, they'd probably bring you in for at least one interview before asking for all the personal info.

No way would I give that information out to someone, unless I was able to verify that it was a legitimate company and a legitimate job opportunity.

P.S. Maybe you should go get that news reporter's e-mail address out of the Channel 24 thread...could be something the media would be interested in warning people about.

posted by mom2 on Feb 05, 2009 at 10:32:01 am     #  

Just an FYI - you are not legally obligated to provide your SS# on <b>any</b> employment application. This only becomes a factor if/when you are hired for a position. DON'T DO IT.

Same with your birth date.

If you can post a link to the ad you responded to I would be happy to do a little research on it.

posted by DoknowDocare on Feb 05, 2009 at 11:05:30 am     #  

Here's the link to the job posting:

http://toledo.craigslist.org/trp/1019849876.html

posted by WalterAnthony on Feb 05, 2009 at 11:13:14 am     #  

Agreed. This sounds VERY fishy. Don't bite.

posted by historymike on Feb 05, 2009 at 11:36:31 am     #  

Looks like its affiliated sub-contractor to Bolt Express here in Toledo. Contact Bolt directly.

posted by justareviewer on Feb 05, 2009 at 12:23:45 pm     #  

It's more than likely a scam. Most reputable companies like that will not use yahoo for e-mail. I never give any information out over the internet and even in person I'll give only what is needed, but it's still out there for the taking no matter how careful you are.

If it is a scam more than likely it is a small time person. The bigger organizations will breach into companies databases and get the info that way.

posted by lfrost2125 on Feb 05, 2009 at 01:04:36 pm     #  

This isn't new. It most likely is a scam. There have been numerous warnings on TV and in print.

http://hubpages.com/hub/Job-Hunting--10-Red-Flags-that-the-Job-Post-in-Craigs-List-may-be-a-Scam

posted by holland on Feb 05, 2009 at 01:44:46 pm     #  

Really? You think it's a scam. Why in the world would they want that info. Now if she asks for your checking account number so she can deposit say a $1,000 finders fee into your account, that would sound more legitiment and I'd go ahead with it if I were you.

posted by AmericanPie on Feb 05, 2009 at 04:17:41 pm     #  

Silly AmericanPie - they can use that information to open new accounts, with a different address, in your name. It happens hundres of times every single day. It's called identity theft. Ever heard of it?

posted by holland on Feb 05, 2009 at 06:47:58 pm     #  

Sorry, I was only kidding. I just didn't think anyone over the age of 18 would even question whether or not this would be a scam. Of course it's a scam.

posted by AmericanPie on Feb 05, 2009 at 07:09:00 pm     #  

Well. I guess I look kinda stupid for not catching the tongue in cheek.

posted by holland on Feb 05, 2009 at 08:03:09 pm     #  

American,

You would be surprised on how many people fall for these scams. Quite a few people fell for the I'll send you a check and then just send me the difference.

posted by lfrost2125 on Feb 05, 2009 at 09:54:59 pm     #  

For those that posted comments -THANKS !

I was pretty certain this had to be some kind of scam. I guess I just wanted to hear some commentary from others, about this particular example.

posted by WalterAnthony on Feb 05, 2009 at 11:20:06 pm     #  

Login or create an account to post a comment.